Licensed center · Houston, TX · one of 2 Rucker Head Start locations
Rucker Head Start
- Preschool · School age
- Closed now · opens 8:00 AM today
- Capacity 97
Nearby daycaresLicensing and inspection recordRun this daycare? Claim this listing
- Hours
- 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
- Days
- Mon to Fri
- Ages
- Preschool to school age
- Capacity
- 97 children
- Meals
- Meals and snacks provided
- Nearby
- 1 other daycare within a mile
Licensing information from Texas Health and Human Services, as of Aug 16, 2026
Hours
Closed now · opens 8:00 AM today
Hours on file with the state
| Sunday | Closed |
|---|---|
| Monday | 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM |
| Tuesday | 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM |
| Wednesday | 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM |
| ThursdayToday | 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM |
| Friday | 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM |
| Saturday | Closed |
Ages, programs and features
Ages served
Preschool
School age
Programs and features on the state record
Licensed for 97 children
Does not accept child care assistance
School-age care
Meals provided
Snacks provided
Location and nearby daycares
5201 Vinett Ave, Houston, TX 77017 · Harris County · 8 licensed daycares in 77017
Capacity rank 4 of 8 in this ZIP
Nearest daycares
- Patterson Head Start Center0.7 mi · Licensed center · Preschool, School age
- Dung Tri Tran1.6 mi · Registered home · School age
- Cuc Kim Thi Nguyen1.6 mi · Registered home · Infant, Toddler, Preschool, School age
- A & B Nursery School1.6 mi · Licensed center · Infant, Toddler, Preschool, School age
- Nga Thi Tran1.6 mi · Registered home · Infant, Toddler, Preschool, School age
- Raul Yzaguirre Head Start1.9 mi · Licensed center · Preschool, School age
What families say

No reviews yet. Been here? Write the first review.
Licensing and inspection record
Published by Texas Health and Human Services, as of Aug 16, 2026. Shown as the state records it.
- Permit
- On the state’s list of current permits, Aug 16, 2026
- Operation number
- 1698103
- Permit type
- Licensed center
- Licensed since
- December 2020
- Adverse action on record
- No
- Conditions on permit
- No
- Corrective action
- No
Inspection history
10 inspections on record, most recent Nov 10, 2025. 6 of 14 visits and reports cited a standard. 3 self-reported incidents, listed separately below.
- Nov 10, 2025InspectionNo standards cited
- Nov 7, 2025InspectionNo standards cited
Nov 12, 2024Inspection2 standards cited
- 745.635(2)Texas HHSC risk level: High
AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter
A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.
Corrected Nov 12, 2024 · Technical assistance given
- 746.1301(a)(4)(A)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium High
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR
It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.
Corrected Dec 20, 2024
- 745.635(2)Texas HHSC risk level: High
- Aug 29, 2024InspectionNo standards cited
Aug 16, 2024Self-reported incident3 standards cited
- 746.707Texas HHSC risk level: Medium
Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent
Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.
Corrected Oct 11, 2024 · Technical assistance given
- 746.305(a)(6)Texas HHSC risk level: High
Report Situation Placing Children at Risk
An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.
Corrected Oct 11, 2024 · Technical assistance given
- 746.701(5)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium
Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk
An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.
Corrected Oct 11, 2024 · Technical assistance given
- 746.707Texas HHSC risk level: Medium
- Feb 13, 2024InspectionNo standards cited
Dec 5, 2023Inspection1 standard cited
- 746.303(a)(4)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium High
Report Change in Director
The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.
Corrected Dec 12, 2023 · Technical assistance given
- 746.303(a)(4)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium High
- Dec 20, 2022InspectionNo standards cited
- Dec 9, 2022Self-reported incidentNo standards cited
Dec 9, 2022Inspection1 standard cited
- 746.3701(1)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium High
Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered
In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.
Corrected Dec 9, 2022, at the inspection · Technical assistance given
- 746.3701(1)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium High
- Aug 2, 2022InspectionNo standards cited
Feb 25, 2022Assessment1 standard cited
- 746.303(b)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Corrected Mar 1, 2022
- 746.303(b)Texas HHSC risk level: Medium Low
Dec 13, 2021Inspection1 standard cited
- 745.621(b)(1)(A)Texas HHSC risk level: High
AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check
One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021
Corrected Dec 20, 2021 · Technical assistance given
- 745.621(b)(1)(A)Texas HHSC risk level: High
- Dec 9, 2021Self-reported incidentNo standards cited
Cited standards by risk level
9 standards cited across 10 inspections, most recently Nov 10, 2025. All 9 shown are recorded as corrected.
- High333%
- Medium High333%
- Medium222%
- Medium Low111%
- Low0
- Visits with nothing cited
- 6 of 10 shown
- Corrected at the visit
- 1 of 9 findings, 8 more corrected later
- Most recent citation
- Nov 12, 2024, 2 clean visits since
Risk levels are Texas HHSC’s own classification of each standard, not a rating by Daycare Index. What the levels mean. Counts cover every inspection on the state record; the visits listed above are the most recent.
- Source: Texas HHSC, as of Aug 16, 2026
- How to read this record
- About the data
- Report an error
Before you visit: questions to ask on a tour · all parent guides